THE COFFIN CORNER: Vol. 23, No. 3 (2001)

Frequently Asked Questions - About the Selection Process

Courtest the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Charged with the vital task of continuing to be sure that new enshrinees are the finest the game has produced is the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 38-man Board of Selectors. The Board consists of one media representative from each pro football city with two from New York, inasmuch as that city has two teams in the National Football League. A 32nd member is a representative of the Pro Football Writers of America and there are six at-large delegates.

With the exception of the PFWA representative who is appointed for a two-year term, all appointments are of the open-end variety and can be terminated only by retirement or resignation, as long as the member continues to attend meetings regularly.

The Board of Selectors meets annually at the time of the Super Bowl to elect new members. There is no set number for any class of enshrinees but, the Board's current ground rules do stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. The 1973 and 1976 classes of three were the smallest ever named.

Every candidate is carefully scrutinized and must receive at least 80 percent approval of the Board at the annual meeting before he can be elected. A scale of negative votes for elimination that will vary depending on the number of Selectors in attendance is used.

When the Selectors meet in Tampa, Florida next January to name the Class of 2001, they will have before them a roster of 15 final candidates, along with detailed biographies on each. To assure that older players will be considered along with the younger breed, the Seniors Committee made up of five veteran members of the overall Selection Committee will name one nominee from the pre-1976 era to be included on the final list.

The other finalists will be the survivors from a preliminary list of some 60 to 70 candidates that the Board will have screened by mail ballot. That original list will have been in part provided by the fans themselves.

Any fan may nominate any qualified person who has been connected with pro football in any capacity simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The only restriction is that a player must have been retired at least five years before he can be considered. For example, a candidate for the 2001 class must have concluded his career not later than the 1995 season. For a non-player, there is no mandatory retirement period, but a coach must be retired before he may be considered. Every nomination received will be processed and forwarded to the Board of Selectors.

It is important to emphasize that the Hall of Fame itself has no say whatsoever as to who is or is not elected to membership. The only function of the staff is to process the nominations as they arrive and to coordinate the annual meeting.

Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors

Arizona Lee Shappell, Arizona Republic Atlanta Furman Bisher. The Atlanta Journal Baltimore Mike Preston. The Baltimore Sun Buffalo Larry Felser, Buffalo News* Carolina Charles Chandler, Charlotte Observer Chicago Don Pierson, Chicago Tribune* Cincinnati Chick Ludwig, Dayton Daily News Cleveland Tony Grossi, Cleveland Plain Dealer Dallas Rick Gosselin, Dallas Morning News Denver Woodrow Paige, Denver Post Detroit Jerry Green, The Detroit News* Green Bay Mike Bauman, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Indianapolis John Bansch, Indianapolis Star Jacksonville Sam Kouvaris, WJXT-TV Kansas City Bob Gretz, KCFX Overland Park, KS Miami Edwin Pope, Miami Herald Minnesota Sid Hartman, The Minneapolis Star-Tribune New England Will McDonough, Boston Globe, NBC Sports* New Orleans Pete Finney, Times-Picayune New York (Giants) Vinny DiTrani, Bergen Record New York (Jets) Paul Zimmerman, Sports Illustrated* Oakland Frank Cooney. Sportswritersdirect

THE COFFIN CORNER: Vol. 23, No. 3 (2001)

Philadelphia Mike Rathet, Philadelphia Daily News Pittsburgh Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette St. Louis Bernie Miklasz, St. Louis Post-Dispatch San Diego Jerry Magee, San Diego Union Tribune* San Francisco Ira Miller, San Francisco Chronicle* Seattle John Clayton, ESPN/ESPN Magazine Tampa Bay Tom McEwen, Tampa Tribune Tennessee Jeff Legwold, The Tennessean Washington Len Shapiro, Washington Post* PFWA Adam Schefter, The Denver Post At Large Jarrett Bell, USA Today At Large Dave Goldberg, Associated Press* At Large Peter King, Sports Illustrated At Large John McClain, Houston Chronicle At Large Bob Oates, Los Angeles Times At Large Mike Wilbon, Washington Post

THE COFFIN CORNER Vol. 23, No. 3 (2001)

12870 Rt. 30 N.Huntingdon, PA 15642 724 863-6345 Fax: 724 863-6345

Bob2296@home.com

Website:

www.footballresearch.com

PFRA MEMBERSHIP \$25 per year

Bob Carroll, Editor Melissa Hredocik, Assistant

Website Editor: Paul Reeths

^{*} Also serves on the Senior Selection Committee.